Journals, Journals, Everywhere!

The other day a friend of mine on Facebook posted about how Facebook seems to be a personal, yet public, journal and then proceeded to ask how many people on her friends list actually still used a normal pen-to-paper journal. I was the first to admit that yes i do still keep a journal and let me explain why.

In high school when my mother had signed me up to see a psychologist weekly, he had suggested that i keep a journal. I explained that things like that were not possible because i had two, very snoopy, very sneaky, younger twin sisters. He looked at me and said;

“And that is stopping you, why?”

Before i could answer him, he turned around and dug around in his desk looking for something. When he found what he was looking for he turned around and handed me a lighter. I sat there just staring at it. The ugliest lighter i had ever seen, bile yellow and completely full with lighter fluid. I guess i was in shock that an adult was handing me a lighter, almost like he was telling me to commit arson. I started to ask him what i was supposed to do with an ugly ass lighter but he stopped me and said;

” Sharon, if there is nothing for them to find, then they cant read it.If you write something down and you dont want it read, burn the pages and let them float away. You get them out and let your anger float away like the pages.”

BRILLIANT MAN!

So since then i have always kept a journal and occasionally, on the days i write to get anger out, and say things i dont mean i still burn those pages. But my journal collection continues to grow and i find myself burning pages less and less. While on blogging for books i found a Q&A a Day journal almost like the last ones i reviewed for B4B but its SO MUCH BETTER!!! Its for artists! Or maybe not just artists but those who feel like doodling! I absolutely love it! Its a four year journal and every page has a writing prompt, you draw how you see that prompt and fill in the year of that entry! Since i have been doing more drawings i thought it would be a great addition to my other new “artsy” journals. I just recently got a wreck this journal box set that included Wreck This Journal, Mess, This Is Not A Book and Pocket Scavenger! Brilliant journals and i have no shame in admitting i WRECK those journals! If your a journal writer or havent started or wrote in one for a long time i highly suggest every one of them! They are fun and give you ways to get those feelings out and sometimes without even knowing you are doing it! Read on, Bookworms!Snapshot_20150824

2 thoughts on “Journals, Journals, Everywhere!

Leave a Reply

